• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • skruffy
    Forum Newbie
    • Apr 2006
    • Boston

new blade advice needed

I've been lurking here for quite a while and am at the point where I need some advice. I have to admit that I'm not near the woodworker that you guys are and most of my tools get used more for home improvement and maintenance than fine woodworking. But it's not my fault, my house was built in the early 1700's

I've usually just used whatever blade was on my saw to make a cut, but after some time here I got some better rip and crosscut blades for my TS and I see the world of difference. But I'm still a total novice on actually selecting whch blade to buy.

My summer project is to replace all of the exterior trim and fascias on my house, so my 12" CMS will be getting a pretty good workout. I still have the original DeWalt blade on there and it is getting tired so now is a good time to replace it and upgrade to a real crosscut blade.

I've gone through older posts as well as current ones and there seems to be a general agreement here that Freud blades are very good and well worth the money. The LU85 seems very popular and I respect the opinions here, but I can't really wrap my head around a ~$125 blade for the work immediately ahead of me - basic 90 degree crosscuts in pine and/or poplar 1x4, 1x6 and a bit of 1x10 that will be above eye level and painted.

With that in mind, I'm eyeing the Freud TK407 and the Diablo D1272X. As far as I can tell, these are essentially the same blade, but one has red paint.
    Does anyone know what the differences really are and why I would prefer one or the other?

Are there other blades I should look at - maybe a cheaper throw-away or a similarly priced alternative? Or should I really just suck it up, buy the LU85 and thank you for talking me into it when I find the time for a nice piece of finish work in a few months?
  • Knottscott
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2004
    • Rochester, NY.
    • 2008 Shop Fox W1677